Going solo

Not having a studio to fall back on can make studying an instrument difficult; initially, you don’t have an instructor to give you feedback on your development, but there’s also the lack of a sense of completion: in a studio, every four months or so, the instructor holds a studio recital, in which all of his/her students perform the piece they’ve been studying since the last recital. This provides all the students with an ability to say, Okay, I’ve finished that. I can set it aside and move on to the next one.

Outside the studio, there’s no such requirements. No boundaries on when a piece is done, only playing for its own sake. While you can arrange recitals, by necessity, they are only small affairs, individually promoted, generally only one musician. This is where I am now, and it’s a bit frightening; my whole musical life, I’ve been shifting from goal to goal, advancing from piece to piece—but now? Now I have a repertoire, pieces I know and pieces I’m working on, but I don’t have goals, I just have a desire. I don’t know if that’s enough.

I guess what I need to do is find other musicians in the same position as me, and work it out from there. Arrange small group recitals, see if we can get a pianist to assist us, and build from there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

